Contact usBookmark this pagePrint pageResize downResize up

GNB members

Members are appointed to the Board in accordance with the provisions set out in Section 3 of the Geographical Names Act 1966. The Act allows for a total of nine members, four of which are those people who hold the office of, or are a respective nominee of:

  • the Surveyor General of NSW
  • the Department of Planning, Industry and Environment
  • the State Librarian and
  • the Department of Customer Service.

The remaining five positions are nominated by:

  • the governing bodies of the Local Government Association of New South Wales and the Shires Association of New South Wales (joint nomination)
  • the governing body of the Royal Australian Historical Society
  • the governing body of the Geographical Society of New South Wales
  • the New South Wales Aboriginal Land Council
  • the Chairperson of Multicultural NSW.

These members are appointed by the Governor and hold office for a period not longer than five years. They are also eligible for re-appointment after the completion of their respective term.

Current Board

The following people are appointed as Board members or attend Board meetings as at 4 May 2021.

Members Representative organisation
Mrs Narelle Underwood Surveyor General of NSW
Mr Richard Neville
State Library
Mr Simon Chan
Multicultural NSW
Dr Terry Kass
Royal Australian Historical Society
Ms Monica Gibson
Department of Planning, Industry and Environment
Ms Lauryn Bae Brokate
Department Customer Service
Cr. Lesley Furneaux-Cook Local Government NSW
Cr. Dallas Donnelly NSW Aboriginal Land Council
Dr Alanna Kamp Geographical Society of NSW 


Counsellors Advising area
Dr Peter Orlovich Historical issues
Dr Jakelin Troy Language issues
Ms Julie Christie Addressing issues
Ms Marina DeGabriele Emergency Services
Mr Angus Mann Development issues
back to top