Contact usBookmark this pagePrint pageResize downResize up


If you have any information about this feature which does not appear on the extract below, please contact the Geographical Names Board's Secretariat with your comments and suggestions.

22nd May 2019
Reference:   40899
Placename:   Murrumbidgee River
Designation:   River
Status:   Assigned 3rd October 1969
LGA:   Cooma-Monaro
Approx. AGD66 Lat:   -35 39 53
Approx. AGD66 Long:   149 07 56
Approx. GDA94 Lat:   -35 39 47
Approx. GDA94 Long:   149 08 00
Topographic Map:   Michelago
1:100000 Map:   Michelago 8726
Parish:   Monkellan
County:   Murray
Description:   A tributary of the Murray River and one of the major watercourses in NSW. About 1440 km in length. It rises near Peppercorn Hill on the E slopes of the Fiery Range. Its initial course is generally SSE for abt 120 km to about 6 km NNW of Cooma where it makes a large loop to the north. After about a further 160km in a generally northerly direction, passing Canberra to the east, it turns west near Burrinjuck Dam and continues generally westerly for a further 860 km untill it joins the Murray River about 43 km SSE of the Victorian town of Robinvale. Major dams are the Tantangara and the Burrinjuck. Main tributaries are the Lachlan, Yass, Molonglo, Cotter, Bredbo and Tumut Rivers. The main places along its course are Gundagai, Wagga Wagga, Narrandera, Darlington Point, Hay and Balranald.
Meaning:   For: 'track goes down here', 'a very good place' or 'big water'. (McCarthy; 1963).
Origin:   Aboriginal.
back to top